Tags

, , , , , , ,

This past week, my former teacher, who lost her four-year-old daughter in a tragic car accident in December, posted a note on Facebook about how she’s coping with the trial God has put in her life.  She was an incredible, inspirational teacher, one that truly strived to make a difference in the world. She shed light on the lives of so many students using her genuine compassion, so to see the death of her daughter tear her apart is absolutely heart wrenching. However, now she’s sharing her story of how she’s choosing Jesus to endure the pain. To transform one of life’s greatest trials into a way to continue to praise Jesus and lead people to Him is extraordinary! Her story is so beautifully written that I just have to share it.

I pray all of you who have suffered a tragedy and hit rock bottom may embrace her words as a source of inspiration to rise up with Jesus. And, I’d be ever so grateful if you’d lift this beautiful family up in your prayers.

In Her Words…

“There was a time not so long ago that I (and I mean this literally) thought I would never smile again, shower again. I thought I would never fix my hair again, dress myself, eat. How could I when the world had ended?

But I did. And so many of you lifted us up in prayer constantly. We know you did, because we felt it. Then I made a choice. Or rather, subconsciously made a choice. I don’t ever really remember thinking, “This is what I choose.” But today I find myself surviving, driving Lauren to preschool, taking Jack riding, reading books, cooking. And I know it is because I made a choice.

I chose Jesus. I choose Jesus. Whether or not I knew it at the time, I chose Jesus. Like Jesus said when he began the Sermon on the Mount, “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.” By God’s grace I have been filled with the Holy Spirit and it is the only reason I could ever survive being apart from one of my children. By the way, he also said, “Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.” He was right.

I miss Kyla so much it takes my breath away. Tears come now like taking a breath. I am still very much in denial, living life for today, thinking tomorrow, tomorrow is when I will finally wake up from this nightmare and then I will hold her. It hurts too much to think about the near future, or God forbid, 10 years from now when I will have been apart from her for 3,766 days. My baby girl is perfect. So beautiful, funny, smart, thoughtful, kind and perfect. The hardest part is thinking about all of the moments she will miss in this world, all of the wonderful things she could have accomplished, lives she could have touched beyond those she already had. But then, it’s a silly thought, because all of those moments put together times a million wouldn’t be as great as one moment in heaven. But as a finite human with a finite mind, I mourn for those moments, thousands of moments that I dreamed for her. But at the end of the day, God’s promises are still true. She is still in heaven. She is still in the arms of her Creator, the very One she was made for.  And we love her with a love so deep and pure, nothing could ever take it away….

The long road we have to travel with our new reality has only just begun, and I ask humbly for your prayers to continue. For peace. For strength. For our heartache. We have been lifting many of you up in prayer as well, with the hope that the struggles you are facing will be met with the strength and power only God could place within you. And also? Thank you.

2 Corinthians 10:5 “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”

Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God…”

Romans 8:28-38, Psalms 23, 63, 46, 27, Revelation 21, Isaiah 55……….”

***Names were changed in this note for privacy purposes in respect to the family.

 Let us each take the time today to extend our gratitude to the Lord for the numerous blessings He has provided in our lives. One of my favorite questions is: What if you woke up today with only the things you thanked God for yesterday? Thanks in advance for your prayers for this family!

 Have a wonderful weekend!

